St. Philomena's announces Class of 2013


PORTSMOUTH—St. Philomena School announced that the following students, who are listed with the name of the high school each will attend, are members of the Class of 2013. They graduated from the eighth grade on Friday, June 7, in a ceremony held at the school.

Shaun Abbate ((The Prout School)

Olivia Abreu (St. Mary Academy-Bay View)*

Ryan Alexander (Bishop Stang)

Robert Allcock (Portsmouth Abbey)*

Emily Audycki (Bishop Stang)*

Ayla Barry (St. George’s School)**

Gabriel Beausejour (Bishop Stang)

Aleksa Bjornson (St. Mary Academy-Bay View)

John Beretta (Bishop Hendricken)*

Victoria Bergstrom (Portsmouth High)

Daniel Bernardo (LaSalle Academy)

Grace Brakenhoff (Portsmouth High)

Paige Burton (Middletown High)*

Rebecca Cardinal (Bishop Stang)*

Frances Corridan (St. George’s School)*

Gianna DiGati (LaSalle Academy)

Kaitlyn Doherty (Portsmouth Abbey)

Evan Dugal (Bishop Stang)

Sophie Eftekhar (Portsmouth Abbey)*

Benjamin Esposito (The Wheeler School)*

Andrew Fonts (Portsmouth Abbey)*

Kathryn Gallison (Bishop Stang)*

Grace Gibbons (Portsmouth Abbey)*

Molly Gleason (St. Mary Academy-Bay View)*

Chloe Headrick (St. Mary Academy-Bay View)**

Riley Hunt (Bishop Stang)

Benjamin Johnson (Portsmouth High)*

Delilah Johnson (Bishop Stang)*

Alex Konert (Bishop Hendricken)*

Tristan Krensavage (Portsmouth High)

Gregory Lucarelli (Bishop Stang)*

Matthew Marshall (Rogers High School)*

Landon Matrone (Portsmouth Abbey)*

Jessica McDonald (St. Mary Academy-Bay View)*

Julia Medeiros (St. Mary Academy-Bay View)**

Matthew Miller (Bishop Stang)

Shaun O’Hearn (Providence Country Day)

Victoria Poland (Bishop Stang)*

Caroline Powell (The Prout School)*

Alec Roderiques (Portsmouth High)**

Marguerite Savastano (The Prout School)*

Aidan Scanlon (LaSalle Academy)*

Paige Silva (Bishop Stang)

Meghan Smith (LaSalle Academy)*

Caroline Sweeney (LaSalle Academy)

Torie Vieira (LaSalle Academy)

Daniel Watson (Bishop Hendricken)

Olivia Wrobleski (Bishop Stang)

Andrea Zuzarte (The Wheeler School)*

Thirty of these students received awards for their academic endeavors. Honoring student achievement and hard work is the purpose of the President’s Education Awards Program. Since 1983, the program has provided individual recognition from the President and the U.S. Secretary of Education to those students whose outstanding efforts have enabled them to meet challenging standards of excellence. There are two categories. The President’s Award for Educational Excellence* requires that students earn a grade point average of 90 or above for grades 4 through 8 and high achievement in reading and mathematics on state tests or nationally normed tests. The recipients of that award are designated by an asterisk. The President’s Award for Achievement** is given at the principal’s discretion to a student or students who have demonstrated an unusual commitment to learning and intellectual development. Ayla Barry, Chloe Headrick, Julia Medeiros and Alec Roderiques received that award this year.

The Williams College Book Award was given to Grace Gibbons of Portsmouth because she has demonstrated academic excellence, contributed significantly to the extracurricular life of the school and exhibited clear leadership potential. The James Robillard Memorial Award was presented to Jessica McDonald of Tiverton for her outstanding practice of Christian values.